ITTT's TEFL / TESOL Course Levels

There are a number of National Qualification Frameworks (NQFs) worldwide. The USA, UK, Europe and Australia, for example, all have their own system.

The general features of the frameworks relate to a number of factors, typically including:

  1. The number of hours of study
  2. The type of certification
  3. If there is a practical component to the training
  4. The mode of study being full time or part time.

Combining a number of features from frameworks around the world, the ITTT Qualification Framework is indicated as follows:

ITTT level 2 certificate

  • 30-hour Certificate of Teaching Practice Recognition (CTPR)


ITTT level 3 certificates

  • 50-hour Academic Planning Course (AP)
  • 60-hour Certificate in Teaching Business English (CTBE)
  • 60-hour Certificate in Teaching English to Young Learners (CTEYL)
  • 60-hour Certificate in Teaching English Online (CTEO)
  • 60-hour Grammar and Phonology Course (TGP)


ITTT level 4 certificates

  • 120-hour Certificate Course
  • 150-hour Certificate Course with Onsite Teaching Practice (CTP)
  • 150-hour Certificate Course with Online Teaching Practice (LP)


ITTT level 5 certificates

  • 170-hour Certificate Course with Online Specialization (120 + CTEO)
  • 220-hour Master Package (120 + CTBE + CTEYL)


ITTT level 6 certificates

  • 250-hour Diploma in TESOL Course
  • 470-hour Professional Package (120 + CTBE + CTEYL + Diploma)
  • 550-hour Expert Package (120 + CTBE + CTEYL + Diploma + CTEO + CTPR)


*Please note that these course levels are not an official TEFL/TESOL grading system and should only be used as a guide that allows you to compare our different courses based on the criteria stated above.